Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login
HEADLINES

Gold for Kenya in Burundi tournament

 
Edna Rotich and Eunice Maiyo after their win in Burundi
Bujumbura, Burundi, February 25, 2013 – Kenyan men’s and women’s beach volleyball teams swept the boards winning both gold medals at an invitational tournament held in Bujumbura, Burundi on February 23 and 24, 2013.

In an exciting final match, the Kenyan women’s team of Edna Rotich/Eunice Maiyo defeated the Rwandans Charliot/Dennise 2-0 (21-19, 21-14) to take the top spot. Kenya also bagged the bronze medal after the ‘B’ team of Naomi Too/Agripina Kundu beat Ugandan duo Muriwe/Nimbasa in straight sets (21-19, 21-19) in the play-off.

In the semi-finals, Kenya ‘A’ beat Kenya ‘B’ 2-0 (21-14, 21-15) while Rwanda overcame Uganda 2-0 (21-10, 21-9) to advance to the final stage of the tournament.

Bernard Musumba/Alex Kariuki of the Kenya ‘B’ team beat Rwanda ‘A’ in two straight sets (21-17, 21-6) in the men's final to take home gold for their country. The Kenya ‘A’ team of Sila Makiso/Elisha Aliwa exited the tournament in the quarter-finals after they went down 1-2 (21-18, 17-21, 7-15) in a three-setter match.

Kenya Volleyball Federation (KVF) beach commission member Ben Juma congratulated the teams for their successful campaign in Bujumbura. He also reaffirmed his support saying, “We intend to maintain these teams in beach activities since they have shown great potential in the sport.”




 Language(s)
   English
   French
   Spanish

Download highresolution

| More

LATEST HEADLINES

Latest news

Volleyball StoryChronological HighlightsBeach Volleyball OriginsRulesFundamentals
CompetitionsCalendarWorld RankingsOfficial RulesOfficial FormsVolleyball Story
CompetitionsPlayer BiosWorld RankingsRulesFormsBeach Volleyball OriginsRefereeing
Volleyball Cooperation Programme (VCP)Development CentresTechnical e-libraryTechnical Video EvaluationU-VolleyInternational CooperationMini/School VolleyballPark Volley
Contact l RSS RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube l Login
HEADLINES

Le Kenya rafle l’or dans un tournoi au Burundi

 
Edna Rotich et Eunice Maiyo après leur victoire au Burundi

Bujumbura, Burundi, le 25 février 2013 – Les équipes masculine et féminine de beach volley du Kenya ont fait main basse sur les médailles en décrochant l’or dans un tournoi sur invitation organisé à Bujumbura (Burundi) les 23 et 24 février 2013.

Lors d’une finale passionnante, l’équipe féminine du Kenya composée d’Edna Rotich/Eunice Maiyo a pris la première place en battant les Rwandaises Charliot/Dennise par 2-0 (21-19 et 21-14). Le Kenya s’est également adjugé la médaille de bronze après que l’équipe ‘B’ composée de Naomi Too/Agripina Kundu a battu le duo ougandais Muriwe/Nimbasa en deux sets serrés (21-19 et 21-19) lors de l’éliminatoire.

En demi-finales, les joueuses de l’équipe ‘A’ du Kenya ont battu leurs compatriotes de l’équipe ‘B’ par 2-0 (21-14, 21-15) tandis que le Rwanda l’emportait sur l’Ouganda par 2-0 (21-10, 21-9) et franchissait ainsi la dernière étape du tournoi.

Bernard Musumba/Alex Kariuki de l’équipe ‘B’ du Kenya ont décroché l’or pour leur pays en battant l’équipe ‘A’ du Rwanda par 2-0 (21-17 et 21-6) dans la finale masculine. L’équipe ‘A’ du Kenya composée de Sila Makiso/Elisha Aliwa a quitté le tournoi en quarts de finale après une défaite par 1-2 (21-18, 17-21 et 7-15).

Ben Juma, membre de la commission de beach volley de la Fédération de volleyball du Kenya (KVF), a félicité les équipes pour le succès de leur campagne à Bujumbura. Il a également réaffirmé son soutien à la discipline en disant qu’il avait “l’intention de demander à nos équipes de poursuivre leur carrière dans le beach volley puisqu’elles ont fait la preuve de leur potentiel indéniable dans ce sport”.




 Language(s)
   English
   French
   Spanish

Download highresolution

| More

LATEST HEADLINES

Latest news